I have had many happy moments in my life span. One of them was hitting a grand-slam in my 14 year old state tournament. We were playing the Bulldogs. It was possibly going to be the last game of the year. A end to my 14 year old USSSA season. We were down two in the final inning with time expired. The bases were loaded and we had one out.

     This was the second game of the day, having already beaten a team from Little Rock. We beat them with a score of 7-3. They couldn't pitch, having all of their pitchers used up just to get to this game. They walked in three runs, and we were pounding the baseball.

     During the game against the Bulldogs, it was a good day so far. It was Fathers day, it was also a nice sunny day. As I strolled to the plate everyone was cheering. The pitcher that I was about to dual against was a old teammate of mine just last year. His name was Caleb. He is a left hander know for being very un accurate. The catcher is also a old teammate, Mark Davis. He is one of the coolest kids I know.

     The pitcher wound up for the first pitch, threw a curve that I missed for strike one. The next two pitches were balls in the dirt that brought the count to 2-1. Their coach came out for a mound visit, he had walked the last two batters. Caleb winds up again and throws a fastball belt high. My eyes get wide because the pitch is so fat, screaming for me to scorch it. I take a huge cut, the ball flies off my bat. The left fielder gives chase to the ball, but then stops abruptly seeing the ball fly over the fence with ease.

     My team mobs me at the plate and we are heading to the state championship game. We lost that game 3-2. It was a bad effort for our team that started early, but was a good day overall.



Leave a Reply.